2017 Award

The first edition of the Buonamico Award was held on 9th March 2017 at the President’s Palace in Attard. H.E. Marie Louise Coleiro Preca awarded the 2017 award to the late Mr Hubert Spiteri for his contribution to our knowledge on vascular plants (particularly, orchids) and Mr Michael Briffa​ for his contribution to our knowledge on local flora, in particular on fungi, slime moulds and other flora.​

​From left to right ERA Chairman Prof. Victor Axiak, Perit Ruben Abela​, Mr Michael Briffa​, H.E. the President of Malta Marie Louise Coleiro Preca, Mr Hubert Spiteri, Hon. Minister José Herrera, Ms Alexandra Herrera, ERA Director Environment & Resources Ms Michelle Piccinino