​The Aarhus Convention recognises that each individual has the right to information, to be involved in decision-making and to justice in environmental matters, thus linking environmental and human rights.

The Convention on Access to Information, Public Participation in Decision-making and Access to Justice in Environmental Matters (known as the Aarhus Convention) was adopted on 25th June 1998 by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe. The Convention was ratified in Malta in on 23rd April 2002.

The Aarhus Convention is organised around 3 pillars:
Access to environmental information
Public participation
Access to justice

For more information refer to Aarhus Convention FAQs